Blue Oasis records


Robert Davies
Cloak of Summer

Nunc Stans
Eurydice Suite


Fictions and Poetics

The Circular Ruins
Curious Geometries


Fictions and Poetics
A Clear Day And No Memories

Fictions and Poetics
The Primacy of

Robert Davies
Sylvan Glen

Nunc Stans
Outer Limit

Fictions and Poetics

Specta Ciera & Arbee

The Winterhouse
Unlit Passages

Robert Davies

Nunc Stans

Fictions and Poetics

Fictions and Poetics
Inscriptions 02

Fictions and Poetics
Inscriptions 01

Robert Davies

Robert Davies
Elemental Shimmer

The Circular Ruins

Fictions and Poetics

Nunc Stans
Edge of Visibility

Robert Davies
Robert Davies
Resonant Fields

Robert Davies
The Winterhouse
Until Voices Wake Us

Robert Davies
Robert Davies

Nunc Stans
Secret Passages

Fictions and Poetics

Nunc Stans
Crossing Bridges





:: BOCD-004
VA: Perceived Distances
VA: Perceived Distances

The first Blue Oasis compilation. Over 78 minutes of original and moving works spanning various styles of contemporary ambient electronica by some of the very best practitioners. It is a fascinating set of original works that takes you on a vast, interconnected musical journey.

"I just wanted to join in with the praise for this wonderful collection. Nice job! This generously populated disc flows seamlessly.... There isn't a misplaced track on this collection. The artists are all top-notch and names that I will look to for quality music making. It is to APK's credit as label owner that he has presented such an amazing string of 'new' talent to this genre. Recommended for an enjoyable sound journey."  1000snakes - Hypnos Forum

"The Circular Ruins, collaborating with Off the Sky, initiates the proceedings with a tune which moves from airy to bubbly, smooth to stippled. Saul Stokes then serves up some of his patented softly beating space music. After a little guitar work, Beta Two Agonist taps lightly against the eardrum with "Seele", one of the prettiest and most visually suggestive pieces of the collection.

Entia Non "Seeing Light" is another track rich in unexpected aesthetic delights, before the nostalgia-invoking Circular Ruins, whose "Nobody Knows" features a low, vaguely Oriental pattern mixed down deep in its thick electronic carpet. On Dreaming the Seed´s "Reaching Out", the human voice is presented as a brief, almost not-there chorus.

The album as a whole has a generally starlight-bright sound, broken by Rumforskning, who seems to be the only artist interested in investigating the darkness in between the stars. As we near the end, and for all its cumulative drama, Kwook´s "Time Wheels" is shiny and glistening and fun to listen to, like looking at brightly-coloured toys lying in the grass after being freshened by a brisk sunshower. The closer "Mellow" by Marco Lucchi is reminiscent of the coda to Eno´s seminal "Another Green World", lightly tossed - maybe intended as a nod of inspirational debt?

One thing connecting many of the tracks is chatter, unobtrusively lending an air of eavsesdropping on the collection. While I hardly think this was part of the brief given the artists, it sort of illuminates the idea of "perceived distances" - not only the geographic location of the contributors but our brain´s difficulty to fathom distance from people we can now access so clearly and readily with the available communications technology.

An excellent introduction to a whole passle of interesting new artists and sounds."
Stephen Fruitman -

1. The Circular Ruins + Off The Sky:
     Salt Bells and Sap Buttons
9. Cymphonic: The Passage
2. Saul Stokes: Camera Clicks 10. Subradial: Diaphotonic Sunrise
3. P is for Prue: princeFive 11. Dreaming The Seed: Reaching Out
4. Beta Two Agonist: Seele 12. Rumforskning: Ligevægt
5. Off The Sky: Early Morning Sunset 13. Robert Davies: Into Rotation
6. Entia Non: Seeing Light 14. Kwook: Time Wheels
7. The Circular Ruins: Nobody Knows 15. Marco Lucchi: Mellow
8. False Mirror: Nebelhorn Mountain  

Date - 2008 // Total time - 78:08

A download version is available on our Bandcamp site
in whatever format you need. Plus full tracks to preview :

Our CD version is available below :
Price: $13.25

« Previous | Next »




Robert Davies

of Summer


Order 5 albums

(CD only)
choose another single album for free.

Simply email us with
your choice,
or add a note to the
paypal purchase form.

The free album is our
way of lowering your shipping cost, espcially
important on
international orders.
(see the SHIPPING
page below)

Please contact us
for possible savings
on larger orders.


We try to keep the shipping cost to the
actual shipping cost we pay Canada Post.

See the
for more info